• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

11 inch drums? Or how to attack this 8 3/4?

CaseyCuda

Reaction score
Well I'm staring at my rear end with a cool question. As you might have seen or noticed my car is a junk yard salvage story and the rear drums are missing all the hard ware inside the drums. I saw on eBay a set of 10 inch drums with all hardware. So I measured mine and the drums on this rear end are 11 inside diameter and skinny compared to the front drums. I'm not a expert here and it's a 1970 barracuda with a 8 3/4 with a 489 case and 3.23 gears open rear end. For a stock 318 car I don't think this rear end is correct. Can I get some help? And advise on the drums?

moparleo

Reaction score
The most critical parts are the backing plates. Do you have them and what do they measure? " Rear drum brakes are not unusual with a four wheel drum car. On a front disc car, the fronts do 80% of the stopping so doesn't require large rear brakes. The best thing to do at this point is round up the parts for a disc brake conversion. You will never regret it. If you have never driven an old car with four wheels drum brakes before, get ready to scare your self. After a few hard stops the brake shoes heat up and your car will go which ever direction it wants to go. And the harder you try to stop, the worse it gets. Oh and forget about stopping after you drive through a large water puddle or in the rain. It will just keep going. Safety is the reason that the whole automotive industry went to disc brakes as standard equipment form late 72 and up.

challenger6pak

Reaction score
No, it is not correct. You can use them (11 inch) if you go with disc in the front and proportion the front to rear braking correctly. Right now your braking will be unbalanced and could cause a spin out in the right situation.

Last edited:

CaseyCuda

Reaction score