• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

71 Cuda Reverse lights not working

STEVEN DEMASI

Reaction score
Hello all, when i bought my 1971 Cuda Clone the reverse lights never worked. I originally diagnosed the problem as a missing back up light harness, so i bought a new harness and switch and installed them on the a833 tranny. I hooked them up and still nothing, i checked and i have power to the harness, i then checked and realized i have no power at the rear lights. I checked the fuse under the dash and the fuse is good. Now i am stuck as to where to look next. Need some help. As background my car was an original automatic which was converted to a 4 speed not sure if that means anything. i am fairly new to mopars and have no electrical experience. the internet is my teacher...

thanks

Steve

Reaction score
The first step is to check and see if battery voltage is going to one side of the trans switch. If you have battery voltage at the switch plug, you can connect a jumper wire to the other side of the two prong harness and start tracing voltage from there back to the backup lights.
Have you checked the rear bulbs?
Do you have a wiring diagram or service manual?
Who ever converted the auto trans to manual may never have spliced into the harness to connect the backup lights.

STEVEN DEMASI

Reaction score
The first step is to check and see if battery voltage is going to one side of the trans switch. If you have battery voltage at the switch plug, you can connect a jumper wire to the other side of the two prong harness and start tracing voltage from there back to the backup lights.
Have you checked the rear bulbs?
Do you have a wiring diagram or service manual?
Who ever converted the auto trans to manual may never have spliced into the harness to connect the backup lights.