• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

73 340 and the Thermoquad

Beekeeper

Reaction score
Picked up a nice complete 340 today along with the matching 727 trans.

It has its original iron spreadbore intake and I’m wondering if the original intake is a decent piece. I dont need to squeeze every last horsepower out of the motor but I don’t want to use it if its gonna rob me of 25 hp versus a newer aluminum design.

On the carb, I’ve limited knowledge of the Thermoquad but I know lots of Mopar guys love them. Are they difficult to rebuild?

Last edited:

moparleo

Reaction score
Download a Service Manual. In 1972 Compression dropped to 8:1 . rated @ 240 hp.
The earlier performance 340 was 10.5:1, better cam, heads. Underated @ 275.
To get to 350 Horse to the crank will require all things but the crank/block to get there.
Much cheaper to do a 360. Externally all LA motors look the same.
Either way, plan on a complete rebuild to do it.

Beekeeper

Reaction score
I removed the last part of my post since that wasn’t really what I was after.

How does the 73 340 intake compare in power to the earlier 70-72 versions. I don’t want to use it if it’s a dog.

on the Thermoquad, are they easy to rebuild?

ted s

Reaction score
i have used the 73 intakw with very good results

fasjac

Reaction score

How does the 73 340 intake compare in power to the earlier 70-72 versions. I don’t want to use it if it’s a dog.

The T-quad would be a bit more difficult to rebuild than say Holley. Like anything, there’s plenty of published instructions out there. Most importantly is that the body isn’t warped. I personally love the T-Quads.
And I also believe that you would gain 25 or more HP with a Holley and an aluminum air gap type intake. JMO

moparleo

Reaction score