• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

'73 Challenger Rallye Restoration

Bill

Reaction score
Hi everyone.
Mr. novice here. I am going to have a lot of questions for the next year or so but I hope to have a nice 73 Challenger Rallye 4 speed w/ 340 on the road this time next year.
I have my car up on the rotisserie I built. I have taken off all the rubberised undercoating, sandblasted, sprayed some shaker cans of self etching primer on the underside of the car to prevent any surface rust from forming. Patched the frame rails where needed to have some new metal welded in. Built my frame rail conctors and torque boxes that will be welded in after the car is back on it's wheels. The guy I bought the car from last summer already put in new floor pans.

Today's question is what should I use to put on the underbody of the car? I was thinking something called "chassie saver" by magnet paints.
Thanks for your help everyone!!!
Bill (Vermont.... the land of RUST!)
Happy Thanksgiving to everyone!

Last edited:

Bill

Reaction score
Thank you moparleo!
Looks like a nice "system". It seems to be just what I'm looking for. Looks like they make two products. A ceramic insulation that is designed to reduce engine and solar heat transfer and a sound control that is used to dramatically reduce road noise and noise transfer. Which one should I buy? They both can be used on exterior or interior of the car. I'm guessing the sound control would work okay since I should not have a problem with heat transfer??
Thanks again for your help!
Bill

ramenth

Reaction score
Or you can just go with a rubberized undercoating. Seriously, this stuff gets a bad rap, but back up a minute and ask yourself what did the metal look like under the undercoating you took off?