• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

coil over conversion

gaddy 69

Reaction score
any one have any input ,,i have 440 with headers torsion bar rubbing ,,im looking in to coil overs((,what shocks and coil spring rate i need)) i'm a machinist ,and fabricator by trade so i'll be building my on mounts

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
SO really why , the body structure is not designed to handle coil overs , most conversions use rack & pinion steering which can hurt turning radius & properly designed header would be cheaper .

70chall440

Reaction score
Go to any Mopar forum and you will find this topic. First off, coil over suspension (COS) is not a good answer for header clearance issues, new headers (read better) are. In essence you are spending $4-$6K to solve a $1000 problem.

Now, there are many people who are using a COS but what exactly are they gaining? As stated, Mopars were never designed for the front end to take the weight of the car and the forces developed through cornering and driving. This doesn't mean that it can't be done as obviously it can but as the saying goes "there is no free lunch".

Now if you want a COS "just because" then go ahead but do not expect it to be "all that". But hey its your car and by all means do what you want.

70chall440

Reaction score
I agree that Hemi Denny (HDK) is the subject matter expert on the subject, awesome guy and a die hard Mopar guy.

mmissile

Reaction score
We'll be hanging-out, all weekend. This is our yearly congregation...
I think Denny gets a little flustered because I haven't bought any product. It's awesome stuff, but my cars are class-cars, and require stock suspension.

Sour

Reaction score
SO really why , the body structure is not designed to handle coil overs , most conversions use rack & pinion steering which can hurt turning radius & properly designed header would be cheaper .