• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Hello From Colorado

Runner_68

Reaction score
Hello everyone. Some of you may know me from B Bodies and A Bodies. This is my first time on E Bodies.

We are in search of a, in particular, a 70 Cuda / Barracuda to build a full race car out of. We found one locally but I need some expert input.
I understand the difference between the Cuda and Barracuda but this one perplexes me. It is obvious it is a Barracuda from the VIN but it came with a 383. I was under the impression that only the Cud's came with big blocks, maybe not. Also, this car has a factory tach on the hood. Is that possible or did someone replace the hood?

Below is what I found on the VIN/Fender Tag decode. Any input is appreciated.

De-Code.jpg

Runner_68

Reaction score
Is it even remotely possible that they came with the tach on the hood? Not that I'm doubting you. I guess Hagerty told him it was 1 of 1900 or something like that. Would sure hate to turn it into a race car if it is that rare.

moparleo

Reaction score
Any big block Barracuda is worth money today. Even the 383- 2 bbl. model that you have. Chop up a Camaro, not a Mopar....
Factory hood tach....no such animal. Added on. Only tach on E-body would be with the Rally Gauge package.

Runner_68

Reaction score
Any big block Barracuda is worth money today. Even the 383- 2 bbl. model that you have. Chop up a Camaro, not a Mopar....
Factory hood tach....no such animal. Added on. Only tach on E-body would be with the Rally Gauge package.
Interesting Thanks Leo. I wonder where that hood came from them. Tell me about the prices these days. I've seen bare bones clapped out shells go for over $20K.

Cuda Hunter

Reaction score
I have never seen a hood tach on any sales documentation.
Nor have I seen one in any mopar parts book.