• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Hello from Farmington, New Mexico

70RTSE440

Reaction score
Greetings fellow E-body lovers (lovers because it's valentines day). Ever since I saw Vanishing Point in like 1971 I had to have a challenger. So when I graduated from high school in 1975 I bought one that was owned by a 66 year old friend of my sisters who bought it new. He said it was too powerful for him, he liked his 6 cyl mustang better LOL. I paid NADA retail book value for it in the summer of 1975, $1700.00. I've had it ever since. It was my daily driver from 1975 till 1982 when I got married, graduated from college, and had my first child. In '79 I got hit by a drunk that caved in the right rear quarter panel but I got an insurance check and used it to repaint the car blue. At the same time I took the 440 out and put a 383 in as a temporary motor till I could rebuild the 440. that was almost 40 years ago. I haven't done much to it since! Raising a family has a way of keeping you from spending money on a car. I've kept it in a garage most of the time, moving from Albuquerque to Oklahoma City, to Farmington, NM, to Durango, CO, and back to Farmington during that time. Well now that the kids are grown and I've got a little pocket change, it's time to restore it to it's previous glory. Aside from the paint job and the motor change in '79, it's basically all original. I did change the wheels to 15" ralley wheels but the interior, vinyl roof, and the suspension are all original. So I need to replace the interior seat covers, carpet, head liner. Put the 440 back in. And repaint it back to Plum Crazy! So I was surfing the web looking for info on seats and carpets and stumbled upon this website. I'll be mining info out of here from all of you until the restoration is complete. Does it ever really get complete? Anyway, here's some pictures of the car including a couple from 1975 when it was