• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

The "mystery" Barracuda Gran Coupe velour seats..

Chryslerdude

Reaction score
Hello E-People

I previously vented my suspicion in the Photo Garage, about the odd Gran Coupe seat covers, with velour inserts being original. The the general perception was, that the velour had to be "a good repair job", but when I took the seat covers off the seats today, I was surprised to see that there were absolutely NO signs of this fabric being a later repair.

On the contrary, no lines of old stitching holes, anywhere, and both foam, uniform hog rings, intact tags (no result on Google), and everything else I saw indicated, that this were the original materials from assembly in juli, 1969..

I'm no upholstery expert, but I'm sure about these never having been apart before, and so was my long time mechanic buddy, who came by just as I did the disassembly! Check the pics, and if anyone with upholstery experience has any comments, I'd love to hear!

My plan was to bring them to Thailand (holiday in 2 days), and have new covers made in black leather, but if someone can confirm that they ARE in fact some "early version test run fabric", or something, I will reconsider my plans.. or, at least I'd ask if the guys to copy the covers, without cutting them up.

Thanks for looking, and comments !

IMG_7253.jpg

IMG_7751.jpg
IMG_7769.jpg
IMG_7771.jpg

IMG_7770.jpg
IMG_7764.jpg
IMG_7759.jpg
IMG_7761.jpg
IMG_7762.jpg
IMG_7766.jpg

Chryslerdude

Reaction score
Thanks a lot for your opinion man..! In the mean time, I discovered that another FEBO member kindly pointed out in my photo garage Friday, that the buttons are correct, but in the wrong position. I hope more will join with their opinions, as it will help me to "do the right thing".. although everything points to this specific velour fabric to be "woven unobtanium", original or not.. ;-)K

Chryslerdude

Reaction score