• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

71 Cuda Carpet install and shifter removal

4speedin

Reaction score
Hi all, I am new to E bodies and have recently purchased a 71 Cuda with a 4 speed. I am replacing the poorly installed carpet job and would like some advice as to who sells the best quality and fitted carpet. Also I need to remove the pistol grip shifter to install the new carpet. What is the best way to accomplish this task?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you! Mike

michael

Reaction score
I have a 71 challenger 4 spd I put the interior back in 2010 after the car came back from body shop. I got my carpet from year one but I believe it was legendary brand. Put some insulation mat on the floorboards first. There is a inner metal ring that holds the rubber shifter boot on then the chrome ring tops it off. None of the 4 spd shifter has to be removed.

Racer57

Reaction score
Car was unbearably hot in the summer, so I decided that my winter project would be to fix that.
I laid Dynamat on every surface possible including the doors and in the drivers area laid Relectix along the firewall, floorboard and 4speed hump. I also sealed off the large hole for the shifter.
I bought a new carpet from Classic Industries (OER brand) because I could get it cheaper on sale. After receiving it rolled up as tight as possible in a bag inside a box on a 2 degree day, I laid in out in a corner of my living room to thaw and "relax". 2 weeks later I decided it was time to lay it. The back seat area wasn't too bad to do especially with the help of a hand held steamer in the forward seatbelt retractor area and lots of 3M spray adhesive.