• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Help Mushy pedal

res1vw21

Reaction score
Well I know it's not an E but I did a brake job on a '65 Newport for a guy and I can't figure out what I did wrong.

I switched to a dual pot master and used a prop valve from a drum brake dart.

The Newport has all brand new lines and all brand new hardware. Everything is new!

I had some binding issues with the shoes but got it all straightened out so now the only problem is the pedal is mushy. It goes to the floor.

I bench bled the master twice, and then bled the wheel cylinders in order of rr lr rf lf.

I suppose my question is do I have a bad master? The master is a brand new rebestious unit. The pedal doesn't pump up either.

The car is a power brake all drum car.

Any thoughts? I have another master on order but it's gonna be 5 days and I don't want this car in my driveway any longer.

burntorange70

Reaction score
Is it an all new master or a new "rebuilt" one? If it is a remanufactured one it could very well be the problem.

Only other thing I could think to check would be the adjusters for the shoes may need adjusted.

res1vw21

Reaction score
It's new so.... I don't know I am about ready to have it towed off.

BIGSHCLUNK

Reaction score
Sure you dont have any air in the lines?? It happens sometimes when allot of components get switched. I went through he!! w an olds years ago!

res1vw21

Reaction score
Well I used an over sized line from the master to the front system by accident. I took it to my buddy who is a mechanic and he fixed it for me.

Flying Grape

Reaction score