• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Want to build a 426 hemi

Cudachuck

Reaction score
This might sound crazy but i want to build a 426 hemi for my cuda..
The crazy thing is i have never built one before. Is it possible to do without bringing it to a machine shop? Is there special tools i would need?

1972CudaV21

Reaction score
How is it crazy? It’s been done thousands of times. First of all, you may want to put together a budget. Are you prepared to spend $20-25k for the engine and maybe another $5K - $10k for a transmission, driveshaft, Dana 60 and front suspension mods to complete the entire setup?

ga66mopar

Reaction score
Building a hemi isn't too bad if you already have a block, set of heads and rocker stands.

Cudachuck

Reaction score
How is it crazy? It’s been done thousands of times. First of all, you may want to put together a budget. Are you prepared to spend $20-25k for the engine and maybe another $5K - $10k for a transmission, driveshaft, Dana 60 and front suspension mods to complete the entire setup?
It looks like i can get the block for 5k and heads for 3k. Do you think it will cost 15k more to finish the engine?

Cudachuck

Reaction score
Would i need to have a machine shop do any of the work or could someone do it all in there garage? And are there any special tool i would need to have? Thanks

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
Assembly is straight forward , you will need micrometers to check all of the sizes & clearances if you are not taking it to a machine shop . You also need a good torque wrench .
IMO you need to have things checked by a machine shop , if the block is used the main & aligment & bores need to be corrected as well as having the block cleaned , there is no way to bore a block a t home without $40k in machines !