• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

AAR clone build

1972 AAR Cuda

Reaction score
I am building my bucket list car, an AAR clone, but the intent is to build what I have always wanted. The car started as a 72 340 Cuda automatic. I am building a 340TA motor probably with fuel injection. and I am backing it up with a T-56 6-speed manual (Silversort trans) with an 8 3/4 rear. I am looking at using the RMS AlterKtion suspension front and rear with biq brakes hydraboost system, and 17" wheels in my original B3 blue.
I have no intent to pass it off as an original AAR, but it will look like a 70 car front to back, with hood, AAR stripes, grill, taillights, side marker lights, etc.
I have been acquiring parts for it for many years and probably wont have it together for a few more.

I am interested in feedback you might have on the suspension setup, transmission conversion, bellhousing, crossmember and hydraboost install - specifically what have you seen and what others have done using these same parts. I would like to know what parts worked best.
I am very close to purchasing parts and would like feedback before putting money down if anyone has any.

IMG_7394.jpeg

Xcudame

Reaction score
First off, I love the idea of building a car the way you want. After all, it's your car. I like your drive train combination. The 340TA motors can be built to buzz to 7500 to 8000rpm! They have extra material in the main cap webbing that's begging for four bolt main caps. Remember, stock small blocks are good to about 550 hp.