• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

1957-58, 392 hemi in a 1970 barracuda ?

bad fish

Reaction score
i was just wondering if this has been done , i know the 426 is the preferred motor of Cuda and Mopar muscle car in general, and the older 57-58 392 more often seen in hot rod cars of days past, but i happen to have a couple of these, instead of buying a 383 or 440 and yes i know the 392 is a small block, just wanted to hear from e-body guys on what they think , and yes i know in the end its what i want to do with my car is up to me, also if its been done what issues are foreseen will it fit without doing full on surgery so to speak. thanks for any constructive in put. oh ya, yep I'm a newbie, be gentle hehehehehe.

moparleo

Reaction score
There has been recent resurgence in hot rodder's and nostalgia guys looking for 392's so it would be a good time to maybe sell them and use the money to buy something more modern that would have many more parts available.
The 392 complete weighs 750 lbs. You will have to fabricate almost anything you need to make everything work in your car. You will need a crankshaft to torque convertor conversion kit to run a modern torque flite or any other since in 1957-58 the torque convertor bolted directly to the crankshaft, no flex plates back then. and on.....
They make about the same horsepower as a 340.

bad fish

Reaction score
i some what agree , and the 727 trans bolt up using a adapter plate i have that part and 727 trans , seeing i used it in my 33 Plymouth 5 window. motor mounts would be an issue for sure and a new drive shaft for sure. but still wondering if it has been done that's all, thanks for the input

Cuda Hunter

Reaction score
I've seen one picture of an ebody with an old hemi in it. Can't find it.
So it has been done. But I have no info to help you with other than that.
If you have the parts already, I'd say go for it.