• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

904 Questions

JonC

Reaction score
Not getting information that I need in another site I decided to try it here. I have a 72 340 Cuda with a 1977 904. Last summer the snout of the torque converter failed. I now have a 1982 slant six transmission and took the 4 planetary set, low geart set and reverse drum, front pump and wanting to transplant it into my V8 904. What considerations should I be aware of? This is my first attempt at an automatic repair.

moparleo

Reaction score
Get a transmission manual. Your question is hard to answer completely, too many variables when we are not looking at the parts you are dealing with. Or go to a local tranmission shop and see hat they would charge you to just reassemble your parts. I imagine that there would probably be specifications that need to be meaured, torqued etc...

moper

Reaction score
I think all theparts will drop in, but you'll want to be very careful with the endplay and selective washer behind the pump.

moparleo

Reaction score
Is that the info you needed, or wanted? I don't understand how you could expect to do this repair without a service manual. I certainly couldn't. It's your dime but I would still say that you will money ahead going to a pro shop with your project. They have the knowledge and the tools. Wouldn't it be better to blame someone else for not fixing it right than to take advice from someone you don't know? You could be talking to a 15 year old or a 50 year old mechanic. Can't tell on a computer. But its your transmission. :dontknow: Good luck, really

moper

Reaction score