• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Blackout grill?

pagilman

Reaction score
I would like to black out my 73 challenger grill and would like some feedback and pics as to what it would look like? it is a T/A clone and i'm afraid it won't look right, thanks Walt

burdar

Reaction score
Nothing looks worse on a 72-74 Challenger then the header panel blacked out. $.02

If you do decide to do it, I'd mask off the sections at the leading edge of the fenders and leave them body color. Leave the hood moulding body color too.

greenmonsta79

Reaction score
Or, Just swap a 1970-71 Grille in it :D and do a rear tailpanel conversion,
Ive done this before and even swapped the sidemarker lights from 72-74 to the 70-71 It's really not that hard (IMO but im a autobody tech) on the front fenders you have to spot weld the 70-71 headlight buckets into the 72-74 fenders and find a header grille panel along with the headlight bezels and grille, rear tailpanel is pretty straightforward as well, drill out spot welds and pop out old tailpanel, fit new, spot weld it all up and install the tailights. Ive done this to 2 cars years ago and as I stated before if you want it to look like a 70-71 (better done if you have to replace quarters) buy 70-71 quarters and you wont have to graft in sidemarker holes. front's you will have to find junk 70-71 fenders to cut sidemarker light openings out of. Do what you want it's your car and don't listen to grumpy people that tell you different!!

burdar

Reaction score
BE&A sells 70-71 side marker sections that can be installed on the 72-74 fenders if you want to go that route.

pagilman

Reaction score
pics of grills

The first pic is my grill, the second is another option. greenmonsta's suggestion of changing grill is another option. Does anyone have any other pics of blacked out late model challenger grills?

my ta 009.jpg

black grill.jpg

burdar

Reaction score