• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Help on engine selection

MRose

Reaction score
Hi all. This is my first time posting. I have a 1970 Challenger convertible I have been working on for two years. It had extensive rust damage which I have repaired using mostly AMD replacement panels. The car is now at a body shop ready to be painted it's original Plum Crazy color. the car originally came with the 340 option and it was advertised as numbers matching. Unfortunately, although the date code on the engine is 1970, I found out later from the vin stamp that the engine was originally out of a 1971 vehicle. Too late to do anything about it now but it left me with a question. Since the engine is not original, I'm trying to decide on rebuilding the 1970 date coded 340 engine I have or go with a 440 big block. I want to go with the option that would bring more resale value in the future. If a go with a 440, it would include the six-pack option. I need to make a decision soon so any advise will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Mopars & Missiles

Reaction score
#1 - Welcome to FEBO

#2 - Pictures of your car are MANDATORY!

#3 - "the option that would bring more resale value in the future" - What makes you think anyone here has a crystal ball that can predict that any better than you can? What you will get is a bunch of "opinions" (everybody has one) that vary greatly. For instance, my opinion on future resale value is to "keep the car as ORIGINAL as possible" to fender tag and/or build sheet if you want the highest resale value.

What you have described sounds like a very cool and somewhat rare Challenger. I'm sure I'm not alone in wanting to see some photos of your car and resto-mod work.

Good luck!

MRose

Reaction score