• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

I want to rebuild my engine and need some opinions.

Benjamin Nelson

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I have a 72 challenger I blew the motor in about a year and a half ago. Now I am looking to rebuild it, Right now it is a 440 from a 67 Chrysler 300. Ran well when I pulled it from that old Chrysler but I was doing a burnout in my driveway and it started to make a weird noise, turns out it lost almost all compression in the number 7 cylinder. I want the car to be a mild street/strip deal, it is tubbed and has a shortened Dana 60 with a spool, 4 link, and 4.56 gears. I want to be able to run boost or nitrous later, but I am a high school student so my budget is fairly tight. I am looking for recommendations On if I should stick with the stock crank, what rods and pistons to get, what camshaft, heads, Intake manifold, and what I should do to the trans. It is a 727. I have never rebuilt an engine for so I am looking for some guidance here, not only for what parts to buy but how to install them as well.
Thanks
Oh and if someone has rear window handles I am looking for some.

Challenger RTA

Reaction score
Pull head to find out what happened. Or try your phone with a USB camera.look through spark plug hole for broken parts. This the only app available for this model. You may have to change you mind and your options.

moparleo

Reaction score
If you have not done one before, it is not a matter of just buying parts and putting them in. There is a lot of detail work and tools needed. Would be a drag to spend a lot of money on machine work and parts and not have good, clean running engine when you are done. Like anything else, there is no substitute for experience.
Buy a crate motor from a company like Blueprint engines. Quality parts, they dyno each engine and you can tell them what you are looking for in performance.