• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

new to carbs help

Dave360

Reaction score
hello
Im new to the carb and am having a few problems

so I have a eddy carb 1813 800cfm sitting on a La 360 with aluminium heads intake all the rest...now I got the carb to start up fine and idle all day long and rev up. Now until the car is completely warmed up, if I put it in gear drive or reverse it flat out stalls (even then sometimes when warm). if I do get out of the driveway and accelerate the car will back fire a little bit.

so I think I am running lean at idle it says around 12.4 but when I run it down the road I can be 10-1 to 16-1 or sometimes it reads -- blank on the air/fuel gauge
should I put in smaller metering rods or what.

also I was wondering if the carb is too big for the motor

thanks alot Dave

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
It is on the large side but with the adjustable air door it really cannot over carb the engine . It may be a vacuum problem , without enough vacuum the metering rods will rise so you need to know what vacuum reading at idle in gear & make sure the springs under the metering rods are rated lighter than the reading you are getting . Check the float levels too as they can be off just from being bounced during shipping

moparleo

Reaction score
If the carb was new in the box, they are normally flow tested and adjusted. Normally you only just need the set the idle. Also, one of the advantages of fuel injection is that the car will run just fine whether it is warmed up or not. Carbs will always have problems until warmed up as long as the choke is working properly.

Dave360

Reaction score
I bought the car two weeks ago and its had problems since I check the vacuum and get let you know....and Im not going efi to much money and I've messed around with them enough they too can have many problems

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score