• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

SOLD 1972 Dodge Challenger Rallye (Restored)...Where Do I Go From Here? (Edit: Price $37,500)

Status
Not open for further replies.

SDChallenger

Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Contact seller
This may be the strangest “For Sale” post ever, so bear with me. I am a 72-year old retired CPA w/ a very nice 1972 ‘numbers matching’ Challenger Rallye I am considering selling. The short and sweet version of how I got to this point: I purchased the car in November 2013 at a Mecum auction in Orange County, CA (Lot F175). Why? It was a beautiful car, I had always wanted a Challenger, and my girlfriend was giddy with excitement (the real reason). The vehicle had been restored over a 4+ year period by a guy living in Missouri, beginning in the early 2000s. From 2007-10 they showed the car at multiple Mopar Nationals shows, winning many 1st-2nd place trophies.

After owning the car for only a short period of time I found the previous owners had done a fabulous rotisserie restoration on the car, but had farmed out the not-so-stellar engine rebuild. I am a marginal mechanic at best, and so hooked up with the Mopar Club of San Diego’s tech advisor to address the mechanical issues. Over the next year or so we did (or had done) the following: 1) pulled & re-built engine, adding stroker kit, mild cam, TTI headers, custom exhaust system, Edelbrock heads, and Firm Feel power steering box.

The week after I purchased the Challenger, my girlfriend died of kidney cancer, and after that I lost and never regained my passion for the car. Since we completed the mechanical rebuild in 2016, I have only put 1K on the engine and that was simply to break in the engine.