• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

392 hemi into 72 Cuda?

Boomer300

Reaction score
I mistakenly posted this question on the A bodies only site. I didn't know the Cudas changed from A to E body style in 69. So, here I go trying to learn.. I have a 72 Cuda with no engine (it was a 340). Original 4 speed is still in place. I can buy a 392, and newly built for street performance, 2- 4 barrel set up. Apparently, an adapter bell housing connects the 392 to the small block bolt pattern, but will the small block trans stand the torque? I'm new at this, so I don't know what engines realistically mate with what trans. The engine is all ready to go in and drive, assuming I can bolt parts together.
Hotheads provided some bell housing part numbers, and I saw a thread where a member installed a 331, so there may be info from him. All advice is appreciated. thanks

Adam

Reaction score
It can be done, but would not be optimal. The 392 is expensive, heavy, barely fits, and not all that powerful. Go with a 360 block and 4 in. crank, 408 cubes, and looks like a 340; or go with a 440; or a modern 5.7 / 6.4 hemi, I think you would be happier with the outcome.

challenger6pak

Reaction score
It is really a bad idea to put the old Hemi in the Ebody. Headers are about impossible to fit. It is misery to work on. You have to undo the exhaust and motor mount to lift the engine for valve cover removal. I have worked on a 74 with the early hemi. Nothing but fits. Take Adams advice and run the correct engine family for your car. Or run a newer but smaller motor than the early hemi. If you can afford it, I would go large cubic inch small block or 3rd generation hemi. Welcome to the site.

wingcarenvy

Reaction score
A 340/360 will make way more power than an early Hemi and is lighter. A small block will fit way better and will be much cheaper to build.

jimbyr

Reaction score