• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

'70 Cuda - several electrical issues (various lights) - need advice!

wsr1961

Reaction score
I picked up a 383 4 speed and there are several electrical issues. I printed out the electrical diagram and have a very limited understanding of electrical issues, but I think I can at least trace wires based on the diagram, to the extent they are reasonably stock set ups after 44 years! As a rookie, I will appreciate any insight you guys have, unless it results in me being electrocuted.

Here's what I have:

First, I also have a 1970 Challenger R/T, and each car has the 3-switch panel to the left of the rally gauges. However, the cuda also has 3 aftermarket indicator lights set in the dashboard. Two of them were not connected to anything and I removed them. I haven't checked the third one yet. I have no idea what purpose they served.

The dome light does not work. I touched the bulb outlet contacts with a circuit tester and the driver's door open, and sparks started flying where the tester touched the contact. I assume power is getting to the outlet but maybe there is a short? Any idea what I should do to try to repair it?

The fog lights are in the passenger floorboard along with about 5 feet each of wiring. They don't help much there. With the wiring diagram, should I be able to reinstall and connect them? Also, what makes them turn on/off? The headlight switch?

None of the fender lights/blinkers work. I frankly haven't even checked them for bulbs. I also have not tested any fuses. Should it be reasonably easy to get them working with the wiring diagram, even if I have to replace the outlets and/or wiring?