• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Headers or exhaust manifolds??

Super-G

Reaction score
Hey guys I have a 73 Challenger with a 69 440 and a 6 pack. Currently the car has a beat up old set of headers that are leaking not only at the head but also somewhere down below. The headers and the exhaust are all beat up since the car sat for 4-5 years and it all MUST go.

So my question is this. The car is a weekend cruiser and NOT a track car. The 440 6 pack and 4 speed are PLENTY of performance for weekend cruising.

Would I be better off removing the beat up old headers and going back to factory manifolds or is it better to go with another set of headers?

I'm new to big block Mopars but it appears just like all other brands headers can either fit great or be a nightmare.

If I go with factory manifolds, is there a decent exhaust system to use or should I just have a reputable mufflershop build one?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
locating a set of the HP manifolds can be difficult but Year one remakes new castings
TTi makes a system that will bolt on & fit great thatis all mandrel bent & with a choice of mufflers

moparleo

Reaction score
If you have the factory manifolds, go for it. A good header like TTI will not leak and makes horse power but, headers make noise, generate a lot of heat under the hood.If you want to hear the radio, go with manifolds, If you like the music of a Mopar making horsepower, go with a cylinder head back TTI system. Best fit , high quality complete systems but not cheap. FYI I went heads back to the rear bumper with polished, ceramic coated TTI's. Bought mine a few years back at the " Spring Fling " Mopar show and swap for about $1400. Comes complete with all required clamps, hangers, bolts and gaskets. Sweet fit.

Super-G

Reaction score