• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Hi guys. Thanks for accepting me here. needing help on AAR 340 HP increase

Ashern Guy

Reaction score
In the process of getting a nice 70 AAR Cuda 340-6bl, w/AT. The carbs have been done, she has 40k miles. What would you guys suggest for boosting the 290hp considerably? I dont want it to be too lumpy, but streetable and innocent sounding. Im not opposed to a higher stall converter. I must admit that I have no knowledge of this engine so am very appreciative of seeing your experienced input. I do want to retain the factory look under the hood. Id love to turn her into a 12 sec car. Thanks guys

Mopar Nut

Reaction score
BA499B2F-C723-4524-BDE9-37A7E16E101F.jpeg

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
Welcome .
More power is = to more airflow , using the 87-92 308 casting heads & porting them is one of the best moves , the heads look stock but will flow a lot more air , & a mild cam increase using a Lunati VooDoo grind will help a lot also , if using stock exhaust manifolds the cam needs to retain a 112* CL or higher & the manifolds an be ported to match the heads

Cuda Hunter

Reaction score
If using the 308 heads ,you are losing some value of the car as the original offset heads will be removed.
Don't blow up the original matching numbers motor or trans. If anything, take them out and tuck them away and put a higher horsepower motor in it's place. Not many AAR's and even less with matching numbers blocks.
Is your numbers matching? Or an original AAR motor? How about some pictures? Would love to see some pictures of the car? Color?
@Ashern Guy

Ashern Guy

Reaction score
If using the 308 heads ,you are losing some value of the car as the original offset heads will be removed.