• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Quick Introduction From An Old Cuda Fan

Cudaized

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

My name is Ron, I grew up in Brooklyn NY and was introduced to Mopars by my Dad. The first car I knew was his 1950 Chrysler Highlander, he later taught me how to drive in his 1960 Chrysler Crown Imperial with a 413-4bbl That is also where I learned how to work on cars by keeping it running. After I graduated H.S. he bought me my 1st car, a brand new 1970 Ultra-violet or plum crazy 340 Cuda 4sp with 3:55's, black top and white interior, I didn't like black inside it was too hot with no AC. He bought himself a 1970 Burnt Orange Fury with a 383. It didn't take long to blow up the 340 street racing so the 340 was quickly replaced by a 440-6 built by S&K speed on long Island, this was also a way to beat your insurance company out of a couple of bucks by not having to pay the big engine penalty they had then. The drive train was also upgraded to an 18 spline and 4:10 Dana. Back then you could get a trans for about $50 and a rear for $100. Every Fri & Sat we would street race, we would even close down an exit ramp off the Verazzano Bridge and run on the highway. We had a 1/4 mile marked off. Like many things in life this came to an end with long gas lines and MARRIAGE. (For the younger members, there was a gas shortage back then) and you know what marriage is about. Luckily my new wife was considerate, she knew I missed my car so in 1978 I bought my 2nd Cuda, an original 1970 "V" code vitamin "C" 440+6 4Spd 4:10 Dana super trac pack, and of course NO AC and black interior (it gets real hot inside). I have had her and the Cuda ever since or should I say she has put up with me and the Cuda ever since. Who says marriage doesn't work. By the way this used Cuda cost as much as the new one did back in 1970. My friends thought I was crazy but, who's crazy now! As a side note my user