• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Need advice 360 timing chain cam/crank slightly off

340challconvert

Reaction score
Purchased a 360 from Mabco to put into my A66 340 Challenger short term while I pull the 340 for a rebuild.
I bought a hp version with flat top pistons and installed hp cam sited as a 272 cam
Cam specs; 272-272 duration 454 lift 110 lobe separation 52 degrees overlap, 216 216 duration @ .50
Power range 1500-5200 Considered the largest "stock" cam for this engine
In going over the engine for parts install; the timing marks are slightly off.
I call the manufacturer and he stated to leave the chain as is.

Pistons are flat top 30 over, no valve notches, piston to deck measurement is not a stock (deep in the hole) 360 with the higher compression pistons it measures out at about .087 below deck with number 1 piston at TDC.

I am no expert, and I have installed cams years back always aligning timing marks; is there a reason for the manufacturer to alter the timing in this manner with this hp cam and flat top piston? Looks to be one tooth off?
Pic of timing chain sprockets and Number 1 piston at TDC
Any thoughts appreciated.

IMG_8963.jpg

IMG_8964.jpg

Jm73340

Reaction score
The only way to know if the cam is installed correctly is to use a degree wheel and degree the cam. Timing marks on the gears or sprockets can be off.

Challenger RTA

Reaction score
Is that the position you installed the cam? did you rotate the crank after installed? If so just redo it. clay chamber for valve clearance. Did the cam come with an offset key?

Last edited:

Bret Schneider

Reaction score
Why do you believe there's a problem with the timing mark on the cam? Looks like you just have it a tooth off. Maybe I'm missing something here but not sure what the problem is.

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
I will second for the third time to degree it ,