• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

73 Challenger wanna go from Auto to Standard, what do I need?

73 Gone Loco

Reaction score
Hi there everyone, Im new to this but figured I would give it a try. I just bought a 73 Challenger with a 318-727 combo in it. I want to replace it with a 408 and a 4 speed, was wondering what all I would have to do and get for parts to make this happen? I already know that I need the clutch and break pedle assembly, but was wondering what I must do to the console/floor ect.? Any info or help would be great and thanks for your time.

burntorange70

Reaction score
Welcome to FEBO. Good to have you here.

Going to need a 4 speed hump, Z bar, shiter and linkage. There is more I am sure just cant think of any more. Some one else will chime in with more info.

Your trans X member should still work. I know there the same on A bodies so would think the same is true on E's.

Good luck.

73 Gone Loco

Reaction score
If I didn't want to chance the tranny hump, what is my other options? Cut a hole in the floor for the shifter and linkages to clear? Just weighing out my opptions. Thanks for the info and help.

moper

Reaction score
It depends on how authentic you want it to be. If you want it to be pretty close to factory you need: trans, bell fork, Z-bar, Zbar pivot bracket, pedal to Z rod, Z to fork rod, adjustment bolt, clutch insp. cover, flywheel, pilot bearing, trans tunnel floor section, shifter, shifter mount, shifter rods, reverse light in dash, rev light harness, pedal assembly. You have to use the 4sp floor hump or you can't connect the shifter to the trans levers. The floor hump and Z bar bracket are weld-on items.

3404speed

Reaction score