• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Engine cough and grumble

EX P I

Reaction score
What is it called when an engine ignition is turned off and the engine coughs and grumbles and shakes a bit then shuts down?
Are there common causes for this? If so, what?
Thanks. (I'm no mechanic)

Xcudame

Reaction score
Dieseling. It's usually caused by an unburnt gas and air mixture hitting a hot spot of carbon in the cylinders.

Xcudame

Reaction score
When was the carburator rebuilt last? Sometimes too fast of an idle, too rich of a mixture can make it even worse.

EX P I

Reaction score
I'm sorry, but, I just acquired the car and there's no history on it. I was thinking the idle was too fast so I'll try to find a local mechanic. Thanks again.

Xcudame

Reaction score
Sometimes you can hold the throttle open (higher RPMs - 3000 or so) and spray some carburator cleaner down the throttle bores and clean up a lot of gunk that's accumulated over the years. Hince Gunk Carburator Cleaner. It really should be a relatively simple fix. Good luck!

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
3 causes , timing , idle speed & fuel mixture , also hot spark plugs can add to the problem , mostly just accurate tuning .

Adam

Reaction score