• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Here We Go Again: Six Pack Questions

wedg2go

Reaction score
Some time ago I was looking for a throttle base for one of the outboards. I found one, on a local auction site, purchased it and discovered my throttle plates did not fit - which I am going to say right here and now I thought was weird. Especially since, I'm no novice to rebuilding carbs and since the base numbers were the same! So, I sent it back and they chose to make it right by, I'm assuming, honing out their base to make the plates fit. Just one problem...The plates stick. BTW - I cleaned the base thoroughly with carb cleaner and compressed air since I found gunk stuck in the idle passages from honing the base.

Question 1.) Is there a way to alleviate this sticky problem that I'm not seeing? Can I expect this to wear in after some use? No fun to tap the outboards and find the 440 stumbling or back firing and yes...The throttle plates are installed correctly.

During my rebuild of the "Three Amigos" I discovered that Holley uses cork around the idle screws to keep in check - I assume - the travel of the idle screws in the throttle base (outboards) and the block (inboard). For the life of me, I can't remember having that in the "few" Holleys I built in the 70's. None the less. my idle adjustment screws, on the outboards, exceed the edges of the cork. In other words, the idle screws are in deep and the cork is not touching the idle screws.

Question 2.) Are these silly cork thing-a-ma-bobs really necessary on the outboards? My idle screws don't wobble, with one turn out, and it seems to be fine. Am I right in thinking this or perhaps do I have the wrong cork for these smaller idle adjustment screws?