• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

When Will You Know You Need To Give-up Your Pride and Joy?

wedg2go

Reaction score
Yes! I know, it's been a long time since I was last on FEBO. So, belated Happy Thanksgiving, Happy Hanukkah, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, Happy Martin Luther King Jr Day, (Happy Birthday to Me), Happy Valentine's Day, Happy President's Day, Remember to Spring Forward, Happy St Patrick's Day and April Fools. Whew!

Now on to the crux of this thread - When will you know?

For the last six months I have been "Wrenching" and "Re-Wrenching" my carburetion and upper fuel line on my 440. Currently, a very sore subject with me. Each wrench session, I would stop and ponder "When?" Now I am going to let the kitty out of the bag and say, "I am no proverbial spring chicken!" However, my whole dang life was to finally own the "Car of my dreams" that I purchsed almost three years ago. The only problem I didn't give a whole lot of thought to, during that purchase, was driveline - going mild small block with auto vs. what I bought being a heavily modified 440 with a four speed. My sole purpose with any E-Body was to do car shows with a little gearhead romp now and then.

Speaking of romps and going back to the wrenching, I was able to test drive yesterday (re-jetting the carbs after solving the made in chyna crap leaky fuel lines), found a quiet stretch of hwy-way and laid into 'er! After I backed off, the first question came to mind, "When?" BTW - I left my heart and four distinctive scratch marks on 285. WOW! She never gave me a thrill like that before! Whew! I just don't believe I will be able to do that, with this muscle car, at the old age of ???