• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Power steering box question

greatscot3

Reaction score
Well, along with the general theme of having to rebuild or replace every dad gummed thing in the entire car, I now notice my power steering box is leaking its new fluid out onto the floor.
I thought maybe, just maybe, there was one piece of equipment that would not have to be gone through to at least get it back onto the road and no such luck yet.
Does anyone here know someone reasonable that rebuilds power steering boxes and does a nice job and turn around in a few days?
I don't have time to mess with it myself and I have never done one before so I have to find somebody that can do this thing.

Thanks for any ideas or advice, Jon S.

340challconvert

Reaction score
Jon
Just a thought;
have your box rebuilt by a company like Firm Feel. I don't know about a quick turn around, but you could have the box built to a higher/tighter more responsive standard. They have three Stages of Rebuilds and it would make the car feel like a more modern, responsive vehicle. You could also add the fast ratio steering arm. Both of these actions will really make your car feel much better.

Unless you know someone locally, not sure what you might consider "reasonable" as a cost of the rebuild.
Even if you bought a standard rebuilt box from a vendor, Mopar boxes were mild to wild; some were tight and others felt loose right from the factory. Yours is probably pretty worn internally after over 45 years and refurbished boxes from vendors cost $350 and up.

Firm Feel charges $399 for all stage of rebuilds. Any local vendor would probably not be much cheaper once you add up parts and labor.

Steer and Gear in Columbus Ohio also rebuilds the boxes. Not sure of their reputation?

Just my thoughts!
Firm Feel Steering Box Rebuilds E-Body
How to swap in a police firm-feel chuck and get rid of steering slop.

Dino2 (1).gif