• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

engine ID?

Super-G

Reaction score
OK so there is a pad on the front of my engine up at the top by the intake. It has some numbers on it but I can't quite make them out. I definitely see a 440. Is there anywhere else I can look to find the numbers that will ID my block?

Super-G

Reaction score
OK so I deciphered the pad it reads as follows:

E 440

9 1 9 HP B....but this B is rotated so that it is sideways...

On the block down by the starter I found...

2536430 9

I think that I have a 1969 440 but if someone knows for certain I'd love to hear from an expert.

Thanks in advance

jvcuda

Reaction score
I am not an expert,but I do believe you are right! I think the sideways B means the crank has .010 undersized main and rod journals.

john

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
F was 70 so E was for 69 , there is a casting date on the side of the block as well

challenger6pak

Reaction score
I am not an expert,but I do believe you are right! I think the sideways B means the crank has .010 undersized main and rod journals.

john
The sideways B meant the assembly line worker had a hangover. Seriously, I don't know if it means anything. A .010 Undersize rod and main bearing crank was symbolized by the Maltese Cross and an X.

challenger6pak

Reaction score
Maybe different symbols were for different years? My 70 and 71 Chrysler service manual say the same thing about the cross and the X meaning 10 10 under.

DetMatt1

Reaction score
Here is what I have in 1 of my reference books.