• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Stock 340 Upgrade Questions

Glow Worm

Reaction score
My 73 Cuda, as far as I know, has the original, unmolested 340 engine in it. The car has approximately 58, 500 miles on it. I would like to try to get a few more horsepower out of it.
A very good friend of mine told me that putting different heads, intake and cam will help, but unless I am willing to change the pistons, and do some other upgrades I will be throwing money down the toilet. He says the engine has low compression because "the pistons are buried in the cylinders." I'm not a mechanic, but I do understand that.
My initial thoughts were to buy an Edelbrock top end kit and just go with what I got, but after talking about it, I'm thinking I should go with the entire rebuild.

What could I expect if I just went with the top end kit? I need to have the engine bay painted and I want to do the transmission too while everything is out of the car.

Any thoughts? Suggestions?

IQ52

Reaction score

Adam

Reaction score
Good info here: http://www.allpar.com/mopar/mopar340.html

If you have an unmolested 1973 340 I would recommend a total rebuild. Have the 2.02 valves put in the heads and have the cc,s measured. Then you can pick a piston which will give you the compression ratio you want (around 10 to 1) you will need premium gas. A 340 has a short stroke and is a good reving engine; most of the power is up in the rpm band so go with a cam that has around 230 =/- 5 degrees of duration, @ .050 (for the street, my opinion).

Even though the car only has 58K miles the seals and gaskets are over 40 years old and need replacing. New bearings wouldn't hurt as long as you are taking it apart. If the bore is good you may be able to use a standard size piston and not over bore it.