• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

What carb to use

cudablue

Reaction score
Hey gang,
I'm a newbie.
I just had my 340 rebuilt. It will be about 375 HP. It has an Edelbrock perfomer intake. 4 Speed tranny.
I'm thinking 650 Holley, doublepump, mechanical secondaries, electric choke.
I'd like some recommendations.

Thanks!

cudablue

Reaction score
Hi Robert
Oh, I guess that would help.. DOH!
I will not be on the strip. This is a street machine only.
The rear end is a posi 3.2? gear.
Though it is damn near a nut and bolt restoration, I will be driving it. No trailer queen here.
thanks!
Rick

Rob C

Reaction score
Well, if the OE T-Q is out, then a 650 carb will do. Not more than 750 for this build.

If I knew what the cam and ascco. parts were, It would be easier.

burdar

Reaction score
If its a near nut and bolt job I'd use the Thermoquad. Now if the engine doesn't look anything near stock...you could use an Edelbrock. I here they are good all around carbs.

ramenth

Reaction score
Well, if the OE T-Q is out, then a 650 carb will do. Not more than 750 for this build.

If I knew what the cam and ascco. parts were, It would be easier.

Kind of fond of the T-Q for the build myself, but if the manifold is already square bore...

rumble's got it right, got any more info for us? Cam specs and heads would be nice to know, too. If you're flowing a lot then a smaller carb won't do much for you, not enough and a big carb will go the other way. But that's for CFM selection.

Personally, I like the Holley Street Avengers.

nqkjw

Reaction score
Well,since you're chasing ideas I'll throw in my 2c.
375 is a nice turn of hp for a driver.
I like Holleys and would go 650 or 700dp if you want go or a 750vac if economy is important.
I've recently come to grips with tuning edelbrock carbs and I'll have to admit they tune better for the street but I went quicker with holleys but using more fuel.