• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Hole in Firewall not identified

71droptop

Reaction score
Hey hi- that might be the reverse back up light ( on the dash- 4 spd cars).
Tach wire goes right thru firewall to coil.
Thanks for the reply.

ZippyZoo

Reaction score
IMG_1934.JPG

My '71 vert also has a clamp mounted at the mystery hole!
I'm new to FEBO - great information and sharing. Thanks

doubleyellow

Reaction score
Thanks for sharing the pic Zip......looks like the hole in mine was a later 1970 model year addition.....running the windshield fluid hose and regulator wiring? Plus what else is going through that wire clip?

ZippyZoo

Reaction score
Doubleyellow - I went back to pictures I took in 1987 (original) before the first "rust-oration" and engine swap. Best I can tell, as you said, the washer hose plus two harnesses: 1) feeding the ballast resistor/coil/distributor and 2) the regulator one running along the right side valve cover up to the alternator (and, I think, the horns). At least one of the harnesses has a rectangular plastic loop attached which hooks onto the firewall clip. Challenger vert was built in OCT70 - 318 engine.
Firewall clip 1.jpg

Grady Cain

Reaction score
This is all great stuff! By comparing information and photos from known original cars, this is how we really learn the finer details about what Ma Mopar did (or didn't do) on the assembly line. This is the signature of a true enthusiasts' forum - members helping members with a small but important detail like a tiny hole in the firewall. I am pleased to see all of the responses and kudos to the OP for inquiring so he can get his restoration correct. Mopar passion man - love it...

doubleyellow

Reaction score
Splitting hairs here, but mine was built April 27, 1970 - so late in April.......aussiemark what day in April for yours?

doubleyellow

Reaction score