• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

70 Challenger R/T Project

MS70RT

Reaction score
8D14B157-438C-486B-BFB7-E35F12F627BD.jpeg
Greetings, Newbie here.. First Gen Camaro guy here but love the 70 Challenger/cuda’s. Had a 70 RT Conv back in the 70’s and swore i’d Have another some day. I’m starting a full body restoration. New floors and torsion crossmember installed. Have quarters to do next. Mine is Burnt Orange car, interior too. Not sure what paint to buy. Any suggestions? PPG? Etc. want a good 2 stage paint. Also is there a good interior paint/Dye? SEM? I hope to get to painting the body as soon as things warm up here in NH. Also, I have a new in the box shaker hood and wondering if I should go that route or get the original hood. Have #’s matching engine and rear end. Thoughts? Mike

DetMatt1

Reaction score
Welcome to the site from the Motor City! My favorite color combo for a Challenger.:thumbsup:

Adam

Reaction score
SPI clear gets my vote. It is very forgiving and lays down great! I used Matrix base and have no complaints.

Of course epoxy prime first, then poly prime, wet sand the poly before base coat and it will be as smooth as can be...

MS70RT

Reaction score
Few pics just getting started. Everything stripped down now, now to repair and start the blasting, cleaning and replacing.

4AB6DF6D-1721-418F-991B-D098675AB3C0.jpeg

833CE04F-ADA8-47E0-9189-0C3EE035023A.jpeg

04320FA2-1F7E-4FE0-B002-000C05D33394.jpeg

E2F4DD48-0ED1-46AF-83A7-BDA7F9465E7D.jpeg

EB195767-405E-4AF1-9D98-17BBC383FBFB.jpeg

52DB6524-D7D6-460F-9833-4BAF34A7BB97.jpeg

E63443B6-80F2-45F4-AFE0-959235EE3138.jpeg

quapman

Reaction score
Shaker hoods are cool, but a huge pain in the ass when you have to work on the car.

MS70RT

Reaction score
SPI clear gets my vote. It is very forgiving and lays down great! I used Matrix base and have no complaints.