• Welcome to For E Bodies Only !

We are a community of Plymouth Cuda and Dodge Challenger owners. Join now! Its Free!

Has anybody ever heard of a V code 1972 Challenger???

mopar jeff

Reaction score
Hello everyone.
I just purchased a 1972 Dodge Challenger with a JS23V2B...... vin tag and title. All of the body numbers match. Unfortunately, there wasn't a fender tag, or build sheet with this car. The original color appears to be a light "powder" blue with blue interior. This is an engine code that I didn't know existed for a 1972 E-body.
Any insight about this would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks, Mopar Jeff.

Chryco Psycho

Reaction score
I know Mopar built 3 V code cars in 72 ,if I recall correctly 2 RR/ GTX & 1 Charger
the big block was not even an option in the E body after 71 so the odds of a real V code 72 are virtually nil . I bet the tag is a fake .

Cudaized

Reaction score
Beware

Anything is possible...but, I've been messing around with E-bodies since 1969 and have never come across a 72 V-code. If I had just bought the car, I would take it to a Police Department Auto theft unit and have it checked out to be sure it's not re-tagged. It is illegal to alter a VIN tag and it's sometimes a problem with collector cars. I would hate to see you invest money into the car and have the true owner show up and stake claim to it.

mopar jeff

Reaction score
Is it possible that someone could have gotten a vin tag made with a "V" in it? What about a getting a title to match? (I did'nt know this could be done.)
If this is true, then wouldn't there be more Hemi 'Cudas and Challegers out there than Mopar built?
How can I tell if this car is legitimate? :read2:

moparleo

Reaction score